legaltech marché france nouveau

Legaltechs 2021, the appearance of a real market in France

Last updated:

After years in its infancy in France for Legaltechs, 2021 still offers some good surprises. Thus, it seems that Legaltech companies are taking an increasingly important place in the French economic landscape. Of course, compared to the amounts raised in other tech sectors, or even across the Atlantic, France is still playing with small pennies. Nevertheless, the sector is strengthening and passing a milestone this year with a range of indicators in the green. For example, the value of fundraising is up 11% compared to 2019. They then total 57.8 million euros over the year. Moreover, this funding is not devoted to the biggest since 56% of startups say they access it without difficulty. A favorable context that should allow French Legaltechs to make their way internationally.

In 2021, it’s time for profitable Legaltechs!

While the trend is positive, the Legaltech sector remains marginal in France. Thus, investments in legaltechs currently do not exceed 0.7% of total investments in 2021 all startups combined. Similarly, the highest financing obtained by a legaltech weighs only 5.1% of the largest fundraising of the year in France. Recall that in 2020, the record for financing went to LegalVisionPro. The Bordeaux legaltech had then raised 3 million euros.

Nevertheless, more and more Legaltechs are seeing their turnover explode. Proof that it is sometimes enough to use moderate financing, than to count on a series of rounds of multi-million rounds without being able to meet its business model… For good reason, in 2021, legaltech companies with a turnover of between 10 and 30 million euros increased by 183%. Taking a wider range, ranging from 5 to 30 million, they have even doubled. Moreover, a quarter of these companies show growth of more than 100% over the year.

Far from belonging to only a handful of elected officials, the success of French legaltechs seems to find a foundation in a large part of these actors.

Legaltech fundraising
Fundraising supports international development.

French Legaltechs that attract foreign attention

Where for a long time, French LegalTechs were confined to the French market, 11.2% of them now have an office in another country. A quarter of them are even exported outside Europe since 15% have customers in Africa, 10.5% in North America. On the other hand, the US market remains one of the most complicated ecosystems to penetrate. Especially since it has its own start-ups and innovations, benefiting from much more ambitious fundraising. Moreover, it is the New York investment fund Lead Edge Capital that is at the origin of the highest fundraising of the year for legaltechs.

In addition to the ability of a start-up to arouse the interest of investors, other indicators are raised in favor of innovative French companies. Thus, national legaltechs are apparently able to attract international profiles. According to the 2021 barometer, not far from a third of them have recruited a foreign talent.

Another satisfaction of the year, the eyes are not only on the legaltechs based in Île-de-France. While nearly 70% of the ecosystem is located there, poles are developing in the region: Lyon, Bordeaux, Toulouse, Normandy, Creuse… The FrenchTech Bordeaux also lists about fifteen start-ups in the legaltech sector (2).

Thus, these companies are now fully integrated into the local economic network. They are working with large groups to find growth drivers; or become good recruiters. In this regard, 2021 shows a clear increase in companies with more than 50 employees (+113%). And the trend is not downward since 86% of companies plan to recruit again in 2022.

Sources

  1. 5th edition of the French Legaltech Barometer, Wolters Kluwer / Maddyness / Banque des Territoires, 6 December 2021
  2. LegalTech Archives, French Tech Bordeaux
Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

Legaltechs marché France

Legaltechs 2021, l’apparition d’un vrai marché en France

Dernière mise à jour:

Après des années balbutiantes en France pour les Legaltechs, 2021 offre tout de même quelques bonnes surprises. Ainsi, il semblerait que les entreprises de la Legaltech prennent une place de plus en plus importante dans le paysage économique français. Bien entendu, en comparaison aux montants levés dans d’autres secteurs techs, voire même outre atlantique, la France joue encore avec des petits sous. Néanmoins, le secteur se renforce et passe un cap cette année avec un éventail d’indicateurs au vert. Par exemple, la valeur des levées de fonds est en croissance de 11 % par rapport à 2019. Elles totalisent alors 57,8 millions d’euros sur l’année. Plus encore, ces financements ne sont pas consacrés aux plus gros puisque 56 % des startups déclarent y accéder sans difficultés. Un contexte favorable qui devrait permettre aux Legaltechs françaises de faire leur chemin à l’international.

En 2021, place aux Legaltechs rentables !

Si la tendance est positive, le secteur de la Legaltech reste tout de même marginal en France. Ainsi, les investissements dans les legaltechs ne dépassent actuellement pas encore 0,7% du total des investissements 2021 toutes startups confondues. De même, les financements les plus élevés obtenus par une legaltech ne pèsent que 5,1 % de la plus grande levée de fonds de l’année en France. Rappelons qu’en 2020, le record pour un financement revenait à LegalVisionPro. La legaltech bordelaise avait alors levé 3 millions d’euros.

Il n’empêche que de plus en plus de Legaltechs voient leur chiffre d’affaires exploser. Preuve qu’il suffit parfois de bien utiliser des financements modérés, que de compter sur un enchaînement de tours de table à plusieurs millions sans parvenir à rencontrer son business modèle… Pour cause, en 2021, les entreprises de la legaltech faisant un chiffre d’affaires compris entre 10 et 30 millions d’euros ont augmenté de 183 %. En prenant une fourchette plus large, allant de 5 à 30 millions, elles ont même doublé. Plus encore, un quart de ces entreprises affichent une croissance de plus de 100 % sur l’année.

Loin de n’appartenir qu’à une poignée d’élues, la réussite des legaltechs françaises semblent trouver un fondement dans une grande partie de ces acteurs.

Levée de fonds legaltech
Les levées de fonds accompagnent le développement à l’international.

Des Legaltechs françaises qui attirent les regards étrangers

Là où pendant longtemps, les LegalTechs françaises se cantonnaient au marché français, elles sont désormais 11,2 % à disposer d’un bureau dans un autre pays. Un quart d’entre elles s’exportent même hors Europe puisque 15 % ont des clients en Afrique, 10,5 % en Amérique du Nord. En revanche, le marché américain reste l’un des écosystèmes les plus compliqués à pénétrer. D’autant qu’il dispose de ses propres start-ups et innovations, bénéficiant de levées de fonds autrement plus ambitieuses. D’ailleurs, c’est le fonds d’investissement New-Yorkais Lead Edge Capital qui est à l’origine de la plus haute levées de fonds de l’année pour les legaltechs.

Outre la capacité d’une start-up à susciter l’intérêt des investisseurs, d’autres indicateurs s’élèvent en faveur des entreprises innovantes françaises. Ainsi, les legaltechs nationales s’avèrent apparemment aptes à attirer des profils internationaux. D’après le baromètre 2021, pas loin d’un tiers d’entre elles ont recruté un talent étranger.

Autre satisfaction de l’année, les regards ne se portent pas uniquement sur les legaltechs basées en Île-de-France. Si près de 70 % de l’écosystème s’y trouve, des pôles se développent en région : Lyon, Bordeaux, Toulouse, la Normandie, la Creuse… La FrenchTech Bordeaux recense d’ailleurs une quinzaine de start-ups de la legaltech (2).

Ainsi, ces entreprises s’intègrent désormais complètement dans le maillage économique local. Elles opèrent des rapprochement avec des grands groupes pour trouver des relais de croissance ; ou encore deviennent de bons recruteurs. En la matière, 2021 affichent une nette augmentation des entreprises de plus de 50 salariés (+113 %). Et la tendance n’est pas à la baisse puisque 86 % des entreprises prévoient de recruter encore en 2022.

Sources

  1. 5e édition du Baromètre des legaltechs françaises, Wolters Kluwer / Maddyness / Banque des Territoires, 6 décembre 2021
  2. Archives des LegalTech, French Tech Bordeaux 
Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X