Big File: Business Crisis, three small rounds and then…

More than ten years after a global crisis, those of subprimes, the pandemic is cracking business models already marred by an unfinished, even painful digital transformation. If some sectors do well, many activities (culture, catering, clothing, etc.), hit hard by the slowdown or even the total cessation of activity, will not have the strength to recover.

In a context already weakened in recent years (Yellow Vests, SNCF, pensions…), for sectors that can, the time has come for an accelerated version of renewal, and, at a minimum, for the sustainable improvement of their operations. An inevitable survival strategy, with an extremely limited time scale.

I – Taking the accompanying package

During the lockdown, the Nouvelle-Aquitaine Region was one of the most prolific regions to implement support measures for companies in difficulty. Thus, the emergency plan, in addition to the various state measures, amounted to €90 million, with the addition of numerous aids to support regional businesses, reaching €250 million. Most of this aid is still accessible online, identifiable through the dedicated platform, the Guides des Aides de la Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

In addition, the Region quickly set up a psychological support platform available to professionals. The challenge is indeed to preserve or at least limit as much as possible the inevitable fall in cash flow, such as arming oneself with patience, mental resistance and financing, as far as possible, and this, in the duration of what promises to be a trying marathon.

It is therefore without a state of mind, if the company can claim it, that it is necessary to compensate as best as possible for cash shortages, while preparing or even creating the recovery.

Seek investment to get back on your feet and move forward

To this end, companies that meet the criteria and that can consider investments that ultimately generate growth, are invited to subscribe to all possible financing. Bank loan, financing via the BPI, regional loan… Between measured investment and necessary risk, the status quo will not allow us to move forward, or hope to “survive”.

On the regional side, Nouvelle-Aquitaine has set up a loan fund to the tune of 20 million euros, in association with a bank loan, to support VSEs and SMEs. Advantageous conditions including a zero-interest loan without guarantee, for an amount that can go to € 300,000.

Among the privileged sectors of activity, cultural industries, JEI (young innovative companies), the wood sector, tourism… A condition of existence of more than one year is necessary, as well as the presentation of an accounting balance sheet.

Save time, a survival strategy that allows you to question

All companies can be supported, even those that do not meet the criteria of the previous possibilities. In addition, the Nouvelle-Aquitaine Region has set up an emergency support fund amounting to €15 million. With assistance in the form of repayable advances, or grants.

The amounts vary from €10,000 to €500,000, depending on the sector of activity selected, and the number of employees. The idea is to really support this delicate situation, for companies as well as for the employees concerned, and therefore the economy more generally.

The idea is thus to be able to hold, as well as to prepare the recovery, by relying on the components thought by the government; ecology, competitiveness, cohesion… Industrial companies are thus particularly honored. The Ministry of the Economy, Finance and Recovery offers a complete guide for them.

In Nouvelle-Aquitaine, the focus is particularly on the modernization of the automotive, aeronautics, defense, energy and digital sectors. Calls for projects at state level are updated regularly online. They make it possible to detect specific growth opportunities, or at least to increase the visibility of its offers.

INTERVIEW

Interview with LaurentDEVERLANGES
, Director of Caviarde
Neuvic

II – Which sectors are escaping the crisis?

From lockdown to lockdown, between forced adaptation and abrupt shutdown, the economic future may seem bleak for many leaders. Of course, the sectors affected by administrative closures, because of their risk or their “non-essential” nature, are particularly affected. Already last June, the OFCE estimated a fall in value added in France of more than 30 points. Placing it among the most affected countries, along with Spain and Italy.

A vast ocean of sectoral economic difficulties

For service professions, the implementation of teleworking encourages the continuation of activity, but not all sectors are suitable for this transition in practice. There may be a decreased productivity effect on the one hand, or costs to be absorbed for implementation. On the other hand, customer acquisition is impacted by the lack of direct contact. Of course, we can quickly digitize this acquisition, but are customers ready? What about consulting professions, local professions, jobs with heavy investments requiring an “in person” visit?

In Bordeaux, catering in particular is suffering terribly. Tourism too, even if the summer was relatively mild by the sea… Business tourism has, ipso facto, not restarted. Air traffic thus envisages a return to normal only within a few years… As for independent businesses, structurally fragile, they have not compensated in a few weeks for the large losses due to the confinement. As Christmas approaches, the situation is more than worrying.

The big “winners” of the lockdown

Conversely, food, real estate, luxury… But also logistics, to a certain extent, for shipments, in particular… The “sport at home”, the purchase of equipment… All these sectors, at the cost of a digitalization already begun, or accelerated, have done well in the current crisis.
Overall, the sectors related to agri-food, health (de facto), energy, and financial services continue to show encouraging results. However, it will take hindsight, once the health crisis is over, if not the end of the economic crisis, to fully understand the consequences of this exceptionally long period.

Business insolvencies due to COVID-19 in France

Interview with Sophie DESMAZIÈRES, Founding President of Local Offices

III – To be accompanied, during and after the crisis, an imperative

Beyond the already digitized companies that have been able to focus on the organization of teleworking, the optimization of the platform, the care given to a reinforced local service, with a lot of human availability, other SMEs have suffered the full brunt of non-anticipatory consequences.

Leaders have had to (and still have to) readjust, while taking into account the lasting impact of the sociological lockdown, and the sustainable reorganization of work. For some, it is their entire business model that is being questioned. In this period, more than ever, the support of leaders is essential.

A suspension of merger operations, hiring… and the focus on buyers

Interview with Yoann Melloul, In Extenso Finance and Transmission

Between massive teleworking and isolation, adapt to a half-hearted activity, or even non-existent.

Interview with Jean-Philippe Romero, President of the Fiduciary Company and member of the Perspectives Circle

The World After has not yet arrived. We are in a particular temporal space with profound changes already underway (meaning of work, teleworking, acceleration of digitalization…). In this “non-space”, the health crisis continues to rage, as well as uncertainties, day after day. At the same time, some can already learn the lessons of the first semester.

The economic crisis has only just begun. That of 2008 is already anthological, and not companies have not recovered. Certainly, the strongest have “cleaned up” themselves durably, the free play of competition has erased some prices … However, at the time, the commercial levers were more noticeable.

To date, the current crisis also places the French economy in front of its inconsistencies, or at least its shortcomings, in a digital environment that is too easily forgotten globalized. With a “strike force” of the pioneers of the digital economy that cannot be matched in a few months… Especially since the playing field is international, facing a national market.

In this context, to pass the course, sustainably, perhaps it is necessary to take the time, if we can, to return to the fundamentals of the value proposition of current business models. And failing that, (re)invent the business models of tomorrow, based on the values expected by customers in the light of the health crisis.

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X

Grand Dossier : Business Crisis, trois petits tours et puis…

Plus de dix ans après une crise mondiale, celles de subprimes, la pandémie fissure les business models déjà entachés par une transformation digitale inachevée, voire douloureuse. Si certains secteurs tirent leurs épingles du jeu, de nombreuses activités (culture, restauration, habillement…), frappés de plein fouet par le ralentissement voire l’arrêt total de l’activité, n’auront pas la force de se relever.

Dans un contexte déjà fragilisé ces dernières années (Gilets Jaunes, SNCF, retraites…), pour les secteurs qui le peuvent, l’heure est au renouveau version accélérée, et, a minima, à l’assainissement durable de leur fonctionnement. Une stratégie de survie inéluctable, avec une échelle temporelle extrêmement limitée.

I – Prendre le train des mesures d’accompagnement

Lors du confinement, la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine a été l’une des régions les plus prolixes à mettre en œuvre des mesures d’accompagnement des entreprises en difficulté. Ainsi, le plan d’urgence, en complément des diverses mesures étatiques, s’est élevé à 90 millions d’euros, avec en complément de nombreuses aides de soutien aux entreprises régionales, atteignant 250 millions d’euros. La majeure partie de ces aides sont toujours accessibles en ligne, identifiables au travers de la plateforme dédiée, le Guides des Aides de la Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

En outre, la Région a rapidement mis en place une plateforme d’aide psychologique à disposition des professionnels. Tout l’enjeu est en effet de préserver ou tout du moins, de limiter le plus possible la chute inéluctable de la trésorerie, comme s’armer de patience, de résistance mentale et de financement, dans la mesure du possible, et ce, dans la durée de ce qui s’annonce un marathon éprouvant.

C’est donc sans état d’âme, si l’entreprise peut y prétendre, qu’il est nécessaire de pallier du mieux possible les ruptures de trésorerie, tout en préparant, voire en créant la reprise. 

Rechercher l’investissement pour se relever et avancer

A cette fin, les entreprises qui répondent aux critères et qui peuvent envisager des investissements sources, in fine, de croissance, sont invitées à souscrire tous les financements possibles. Prêt bancaire, financement via la BPI, prêt de région… Entre investissement mesuré et risque nécessaire, le statu quo ne permettra pas d’avancer, ou d’espérer “survivre”.

Côté région, la Nouvelle-Aquitaine a mis en place un fonds de prêts abondé à hauteur de 20 millions d’euros, en association avec un prêt bancaire, afin de soutenir les TPE et le PME. Des conditions avantageuses avec notamment un prêt à taux zéro et sans garantie, pour un montant pouvant aller à 300 000€.

Parmi les secteurs d’activités privilégiés, les industries culturelles, les JEI (jeunes entreprises innovantes), le secteur du bois, le tourisme… Une condition d’existence de plus d’un an est nécessaire, ainsi que la présentation d’un bilan comptable.

Gagner du temps, une stratégie de survie permettant la remise en question

Toutes les entreprises peuvent être soutenues, même celles qui ne remplissent pas les critères des précédentes possibilités. Ainsi, en complément, la Région Nouvelle-Aquitaine a mis en place un fonds de soutien d’urgence d’un montant de 15 millions d’euros. Avec une aide sous forme d’avances remboursables, ou bien de subventions. 

Les montants varient de 10 000 euros à 500 000€, selon le secteur d’activité retenu, et le nombre de salariés. L’idée est de soutenir réellement cette situation délicate, pour les entreprises comme pour les salariés concernés, et donc l’économie plus généralement. 

L’idée est ainsi de pouvoir tenir, comme de préparer la relance, en s’appuyant sur les volets pensés par le gouvernement ; écologie, compétitivité, cohésion… Les entreprises industrielles sont ainsi notamment mises à l’honneur. Le Ministère de l’Economie, des Finances et de la Relance propose ainsi un guide complet à leur attention. 

En Nouvelle-Aquitaine, l’accent est notamment porté sur la modernisation des filières automobile, aéronautique, défense, énergie, ou encore le numérique. Les appels à projet au niveau étatique sont mis à jour régulièrement en ligne. Ils permettent de détecter des opportunités de croissance spécifiques, ou tout du moins d’augmenter la visibilité de ses offres.

INTERVIEW

Entretien avec Laurent
DEVERLANGES, Directeur du Caviar
de Neuvic

II – Quels secteurs échappent à la crise ?

De confinement en confinement, entre adaptation forcée et arrêt brutal d’activité, l’avenir économique peut sembler morose pour de nombreux dirigeants. Bien évidemment, les secteurs touchés par les fermetures administratives, du fait de leur risque ou de leur caractère “non-essentiel”, sont particulièrement touchés. En juin dernier déjà, l’OFCE estimait une chute de valeur ajoutée en France de plus de 30 points. La plaçant parmi les pays les plus affectés, avec l’Espagne et l’Italie.

Un vaste océan de difficultés économiques sectorielles

Pour les métiers de service, la mise en place du télétravail incite à la continuation de l’activité, mais tous les secteurs ne sont pas aptes à cette transition en pratique. Il peut y avoir un effet de baisse de productivité d’une part, ou de coûts à absorber pour la mise en œuvre. D’autre part, l’acquisition de la clientèle se voit impactée par le manque de contact direct. Certes, on peut rapidement digitaliser cette acquisition, mais les clients sont-ils prêts ? Qu’en est-il des métiers de conseil, des métiers de proximité, des métiers aux investissements lourds nécessitant une visite “en personne” ?

A Bordeaux, la restauration notamment souffre terriblement. Le tourisme également, même si l’été a été relativement clément en bord de mer… Le tourisme d’affaires n’a, ipso facto, pas redémarré. Le trafic aérien n’envisage ainsi un retour à la normale que sous quelques années… Quant aux commerces indépendants, structurellement fragiles, ils n’ont pas compensé en quelques semaines les larges pertes dues au confinement. A l’approche de Noël, la situation est plus qu’inquiétante.

Les grands “gagnants” du confinement

A l’inverse, l’alimentation, l’immobilier, le luxe… Mais aussi la logistique, dans une certaine mesure, pour les expéditions, notamment… Le “sport à domicile”, l’achat de matériel… Tous ces secteurs, au prix d’une digitalisation déjà amorcée, ou bien accélérée, ont tiré leur épingle du jeu dans la crise actuelle.
De manière globale, les secteurs liés à l’agroalimentaire, la santé (de facto), les énergies, ou encore les services financiers continuent d’afficher des résultats encourageants. Il faudra cependant du recul, une fois la crise sanitaire terminée, à défaut de la fin de la crise économique, pour bien appréhender les conséquences de cette période exceptionnellement longue.

Défaillances d’entreprises du fait de la COVID-19 en France

Entretien avec Sophie DESMAZIÈRES, Présidente Fondatrice de Bureaux Locaux

III – Être accompagné, pendant, et après la crise, un impératif

Au-delà des entreprises déjà digitalisées qui ont pu se concentrer sur l’organisation du télétravail, l’optimisation de la plateforme, le soin apporté à une service de proximité renforcé, avec beaucoup de disponibilité humaine, d’autres PME ont subi de plein fouet des conséquences non anticipables.

Les dirigeants ont dû (et doivent encore) se réadapter, tout en tenant compte de l’impact durable du confinement sociologiquement, et de la réorganisation durable du travail. Pour certains, c’est tout leur business model qui est remis en question. Dans cette période, plus que jamais, l’accompagnement des dirigeants est primordial.

Une suspension des opérations de fusion, des embauches… et la part belle aux repreneurs

Entretien avec Yoann Melloul, In Extenso Finance et Transmission

Entre télétravail massif et isolement, s’adapter à une activité en demi-teinte, voire inexistante. 

Entretien avec Jean-Philippe Romero, Président de la Compagnie Fiduciaire et membre du Cercle Perspectives

Le Monde d’après n’est pas encore advenu. Nous sommes dans un espace temporel particulier avec des changements profonds déjà amorcés (sens du travail, télétravail, accélération de la digitalisation…). Dans ce “non-espace”, la crise sanitaire continue de faire rage, ainsi que les incertitudes, jour après jour. Dans le même temps, certains peuvent déjà tirer les leçons du premier semestre.

La crise économique ne fait que commencer. Celle de 2008 étant d’ores et déjà anthologique, et non d’entreprises ne s’en sont pas remises. Certes, les plus solides se sont « assainies » durablement, le libre-jeu de la concurrence a gommé certains prix… Cependant à l’époque, les leviers commerciaux étaient plus perceptibles. 

A ce jour, la crise actuelle place également l’économie française face à ses incohérences, ou tout du moins, à ses lacunes, dans un environnement digital qu’on oublie trop aisément mondialisé. Avec une “force de frappe” des pionniers de l’économie digitale qui ne peut être égalée en quelques mois… D’autant que le terrain de jeu est international, face à un marché national. 

Dans ce contexte, pour passer le cap, durablement, peut-être faut-il prendre le temps, si l’on peut, de revenir aux fondamentaux de la proposition de valeurs des business models actuels. Et à défaut, (ré)inventer les business models de demain, basé sur les valeurs attendues par les clients à l’aune de la crise sanitaire.

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X