Gironde, the resumption of tourist activity after the fires

Last updated:

The month of July leaves marks in the landscape of the Gironde. Indeed, the two fires that started on July 12 in Teste-de-Buch as well as in the south have taken with them 20,800 hectares of forest. The severity of the fires led to the evacuation of residents and holidaymakers. After, the dramatic passage of the fires comes the time of the observation and the resumption of the season. If the landscapes remain desolate, it is appropriate for the economic actors of the region to continue the summer season as well as possible. Today, most of the region’s tourist sites and Gironde accommodations welcome holidaymakers back safely. From now on, we must continue to show the Gironde in its best light even if it lacks part of its natural heritage.

The majority of the tourist offer in Gironde is again accessible

If the landscape is devastated, the tourist offer of the Gironde is almost entirely accessible. The only places still inaccessible are the ocean beaches between the Dune de Pilat and Biscarosse as well as the 5 campsites impacted in The Teste-de-Buch. These campsites represented 17% of the park in the Bassin d’Arcachon. On the Gironde the latter represented 5%. As a result, the tragedy of the fires is hurting the accommodation offer. Some parts of the forest are still limited in terms of access. The goal is to prevent the risk of accidents, especially because of falling trees. Access to the Vélodyssée and the networks of cycle paths is also restricted. However, if some roads are closed, it is possible to choose alternative routes.

From 25 July, tourist activities in the Gironde were able to resume except for those dependent on inaccessible areas. For example, the Dune du Pilat reopened on July 27. Being the most visited site in the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region with 2 million visitors per year, a prolonged closure of the place has a considerable impact. Thus it is worth seeing the impact of the fires on the economy of the region.

Hotel Point France accommodation Arcachon
Hotel Point France continues to welcome visitors who wish to discover the Gironde. Photograph: Hotel Point France

The season generally suggests reassuring prospects


The impact of the fires on the tourist economy in Gironde is still partially measurable. The available figures show varying declines for accommodation and leisure activities. In the second half of July, the decline in activity could go up to 50% for bike rental companies, campsites or hotels. Indeed, the Hotel Point France testifies to this. Following the fires for the Hotel, it was a question of reassuring tourists who wanted to come. They should also be informed of the activities that were still available.

The summer season is a challenge for the entire activity of the hotel. It must be said that on the Bassin d’Arcachon bookings are up 7% in July. They are also up 11% in August and 16% in September. And every year the number of overnight stays increases. Thus, faced with the importance of this period in Gironde, there is no more time to lose to resume normal activity.

From August and thanks to communication actions encouraging tourists to return, professionals have already seen a revival of bookings for the month of August. It must also be said that it would be a shame not to come and enjoy the wonderful setting that the Hotel Point France by the sea can offer in Arcachon. The hotel has a direct view of the Bassin d’Arcachon and a central location. Thus, it is a perfect country haven to enjoy the tourist activities of the city and its surroundings.

Sources:

“THE GIRONDE IS WAITING FOR YOU, THE GIRONDE IS WELCOMING YOU!” Gironde Tourisme, press release of 2 August 2022

To welcome each visitor individually whatever the season at the Dune du Pilat” Grandsitedefrance.com

Hotel Point France

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

Activité touristique Gironde

Gironde, la reprise de l’activité touristique après les incendies

Le mois de juillet laisse des marques dans le paysage de la Gironde. En effet, les deux incendies qui ont démarré le 12 Juillet à la Teste-de-Buch ainsi que dans le sud ont emporté avec eux 20 800 hectares de forêt. La gravité des incendies a entraîné l’évacuation d’habitants et de vacanciers. Après, le passage dramatique des feux vient le temps du constat et de la reprise de la saison. Si les paysages restent désolés, il convient pour les acteurs économiques de la région de poursuivre au mieux la saison estivale. Aujourd’hui, la plupart des sites touristiques de la région et des hébergements girondins accueillent à nouveaux les vacanciers en toute sécurité. Désormais, il faut continuer de montrer la Gironde sous son meilleur jour même si il lui manque une partie de son patrimoine naturel.

La majorité de l’offre touristique en Gironde est de nouveau accessible

Si le paysage est dévasté, l’offre touristique de la Gironde est quasiment entièrement accessible. Les seuls lieux encore inaccessibles sont les plages océanes entre la Dune de Pilat et Biscarosse ainsi que les 5 campings impactés à la Teste-de-Buch. Ces campings représentaient 17% du parc en emplacement du Bassin d’Arcachon. Sur la Gironde ces derniers représentaient 5%. Par conséquent, le drame des incendies nuit à l’offre d’hébergement proposée. Certaines parties de forêt sont encore limitées en matière d’accès. Le but étant de prévenir des risques d’accidents notamment à cause de chutes d’arbres.  L’accès à la Vélodyssée et aux réseaux de pistes cyclables est également restreint. Cependant, si certaines routes sont fermées, il est possible de choisir des itinéraires alternatifs.

Dès le 25 juillet, les activités touristiques de la Gironde ont pu reprendre sauf pour celles dépendantes des zones inaccessibles. Par exemple, la Dune du Pilat a rouvert le 27 juillet. Étant, le site le plus visité de la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine avec 2 millions de visiteurs par an, une fermeture prolongée du lieu a un impact considérable. Ainsi il convient de voir l’impact des incendies sur l’économie de la région. 

Hôtel Point France hébergement Arcachon
Hôtel Point France continue d’accueillir les visiteurs qui souhaitent découvrir la Gironde. Photographie : Hôtel Point France

La saison laisse globalement entrevoir des perspectives rassurantes


L’impact des incendies sur l’économie touristique en Gironde est encore partiellement mesurable. Les chiffres disponibles montrent des baisses variables pour les hébergements et les activités de loisirs. Sur la deuxième quinzaine de juillet les baisses d’activités ont pu aller jusqu’à 50% pour les loueurs de vélo, les campings ou encore les hôtels. Effectivement, l’Hôtel Point France témoigne de cela. A la suite des incendies pour l’Hôtel, il était question de rassurer les touristes qui souhaitaient venir. Il fallait aussi les informer sur les activités toujours disponibles.

La saison estivale est un enjeu pour l’ensemble de l’activité de l’hôtel. Il faut dire que sur le Bassin d’Arcachon les réservations sont en hausse de 7% en juillet. Elle sont aussi en hausse de 11% en août et 16% en septembre. Et chaque année le nombre de nuitées augmente. Ainsi, face à l’importance de cette période en Gironde, il n’y a plus de temps à perdre pour reprendre une activité normale.

Dès le mois d’août et grâce à des actions de communication incitant les touristes à revenir, les professionnels ont déjà pu constater un regain des réservations pour le mois d’août. Il faut aussi dire qu’il serait dommage de ne pas venir profiter du merveilleux cadre que peut offrir l’Hôtel Point France en bord de mer à Arcachon. L’hôtel possède une vue directe sur le Bassin d’Arcachon et une localisation centrale. Ainsi, il est un havre de pays parfait pour profiter des activités touristiques de la ville et ses alentours. 

Sources : 

 » LA GIRONDE VOUS ATTEND, LA GIRONDE VOUS ACCUEILLE ! » Gironde Tourisme, communiqué de presse du 2 août 2022

Accueillir individuellement chaque visiteur quelle que soit la saison à la Dune du Pilat” Grandsitedefrance.com

Hôtel Point France

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X