Satellite 3 Bordeaux airport building

Bordeaux: Satellite 3, the inauguration at Mérignac airport

Last updated:

Satellite 3 was inaugurated on Thursday, October 7, 2021. BORDEAUX Business was present at this event. Brand new building in the heart of Bordeaux airport, it welcomes international flights and brings many promises. Located next to the Control Tower, the International Pier was officially presented. For several years, Bordeaux airport has been betting on a more committed operation in favor of the environment; but also to promote the satisfaction and well-being of all travelers and airport staff.

Simon DRESCHEL Bordeaux Airport
Simon DRESCHEL presented the brand new International Pier.

Simon DRESCHEL presents the commitment of the brand new Satellite 3

The inauguration of this brand new place took place in the presence of Simon DRESCHEL, Chairman of the Management Board of the Société Aéroportuaire; but also Patrick SEGUIN, President of the CCI of Gironde; and representatives of the Supervisory Board. Bordeaux airport is constantly evolving and modernizing to meet the demands and challenges of the region as well as players in the sector and travelers.

Satellite 3 responds to many ecological and societal challenges to this end. Simon DRESCHEL presents this brand new international pier as the best in construction.

Satellite 3 exists along two main axes. The first is to improve the quality of service for all, both for travellers and airlines. The second is to implement actions in favour of the environment. This building has been designed in High Environmental Quality. We then respond to an environmental and energy performance challenge.

Simon DRESCHEL
Visit slopes Satellite 3 tower control
Satellite 3 is located at the foot of the control tower, at the edge of the runways.

Bordeaux airport aims for carbon neutrality by 2030. An ambitious goal, already well encouraged by obtaining ISO 14001 certification in December 2020. Started at the end of 2019, work on the construction of Satellite 3 is slowing down with the pandemic. But, according to Simon DRESCHEL, the context has been more motivated to move things forward. The arrival of this new space therefore delivers an optimistic message, in a project of the future.

The building therefore brings more comfort to travelers, at the foot of the slopes. LED lighting that adapts to the surrounding brightness to consume less, with an estimated saving of 96 MWHEP per year. The water used in Satellite 3 comes mainly from rainwater, which saves more than 1,000 m3 of drinking water per year. Construction waste is also recovered to reduce nuisances and pollution through better waste management.

Make Satellite 3 the first “good impression” of the region

The Satellite 3 is located at the foot of the runways, and has excellent sound insulation, so that it is possible to see the planes up close from inside the building… Without hearing them. Indeed, the glazing used makes it possible to reduce external sounds by 50 dB. Through this significant reduction,Bordeaux Airport wishes above all to make the experience of travelers even better.

Everything is designed in this space to make travelers feel good. Access to boarding gates is simpler with more orderly and fluid controls. Customs clearance is also facilitated with PARAFE (Rapid Automated Crossing at the External Borders) with the biometric passport. The airport’s goal? Facilitate travel around the airport so that travelers can access their boarding gate or leave the premises quickly.

Interior Boarding Lounge Satellite 3
The interior is designed for the comfort of travelers and for the benefit of the environment.

By designing satellite 3, the airport, the CCI, local authorities such as the city of Mérignac, Bordeaux and the metropolis… but also the DGAC (Directorate General of Civil Aviation) have thought about the future. The challenges of tomorrow for the region and to meet the needs of all the actors concerned by these developments.

According to Patrick SEGUIN, President of the CCI Gironde, the stakes were important and indispensable. A real “Cocorico” that will highlight the commitments of Nouvelle-Aquitaine in terms of energy and environmental performance.

This was an ambitious plan for the airport. A plan with an environmental dimension thought before the pandemic. We want the airport to become green in the long term through all the projects we carry out at the same time. An investment plan of €160 million over several years is in place for this purpose. These investments are essential because they improve the impact of buildings on the environment.

Patrick SEGUIN

Promising ambitions to come around the airport

Bordeaux airport continues to develop. The inauguration of Satellite 3 marks the first major change in a series of developments for the well-being of all. The question of mobility arises, especially to get to and from the airport. The main work in progress concerns the extension of the tramway to the airport. This will reduce travel time from the centre of Bordeaux, but also facilitate access to the entire metropolis thanks to the public transport network.

The forecourt of the airport is also under construction. Like Satellite 3, the ambition of the contributors of this project is to make it go to. Simon DRESCHEL describes it as a green space, with trees and a layout facilitating the arrival of travelers.

Inauguration of the Satellite 3 banner
The inauguration in the presence of the actors of the construction of Satellite 3.

At the dawn of the arrival of hydrogen and electric aircraft, the airport’s ambitions are stronger than ever. As Patrick SEGUIN says: “When we have electric and hydrogen aircraft, then we will have more aircraft. In Northern European countries, they use a lot of hydrogen trucks. They have achieved carbon neutrality on this point, and have more trucks, with 500 km of autonomy.”

Satellite 3 is already open for international flights. It makes it possible to revive air tourism, already well off to a good start with a significant peak in August. If the resumption of traffic at its 2019 level will not be done for 3 to 4 years, Simon DRESCHEL intends to take care of the quality of the reception of all travelers every day. Business travelers, commercial travelers, military, or even sanitary must be welcomed in the best conditions so that their first impression of Bordeaux is irreproachable.

Ambitions that allow the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region to shine… And more than ever to be part of this approach of the future.

Sources:

Interview on the occasion of the inauguration of the International Pier on October 7, 2021

A new international jetty and more capacity for Hall A Bordeaux Airport

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X

Satellite 3 bâtiment aéroport Bordeaux

Bordeaux : Satellite 3, l’inauguration à l’aéroport de Mérignac

Le Satellite 3 a été inauguré ce jeudi 7 octobre 2021. BORDEAUX Business était présent lors de cet événement. Tout nouveau bâtiment au coeur de l’aéroport de Bordeaux, il accueille les vols internationaux et apporte de nombreuses promesses. Située à côté de la Tour de Contrôle, la Jetée Internationale a ainsi pu être présentée officiellement. L’aéroport de Bordeaux mise depuis plusieurs années sur le pari d’un fonctionnement plus engagé en faveur de l’environnement; mais aussi pour favoriser la satisfaction et le bien-être de tous les voyageurs et du personnel de l’aéroport. 

Simon DRESCHEL aéroport de Bordeaux
Simon DRESCHEL a présenté la toute nouvelle Jetée Internationale.

Simon DRESCHEL présente l’engagement du tout nouveau Satellite 3

L’inauguration de ce tout nouveau lieu s’est effectuée en présence de Simon DRESCHEL, Président du Directoire de la Société Aéroportuaire; mais aussi de Patrick SEGUIN, Président de la CCI de Gironde; et des représentants du Conseil de Surveillance. L’aéroport de Bordeaux ne cesse d’évoluer et de se moderniser pour répondre aux demandes et aux enjeux de la région ainsi que des acteurs du secteurs et des voyageurs. 

Le Satellite 3 répond à de nombreux défis d’ordre écologique et sociétaux à cet effet. Simon DRESCHEL présente ainsi cette toute nouvelle jetée internationale comme étant ce qu’il se fait de mieux dans le bâtiment. 

Le Satellite 3 existe selon deux grands axes. Le premier, améliorer la qualité de service pour tous, aussi bien pour les voyageurs que pour les compagnies aériennes. Le second, concrétiser des actions en faveur de l’environnement. Ce bâtiment a été conçu en Haute Qualité Environnementale. Nous répondons alors à un défi de performance environnementale et énergétique.

Simon DRESCHEL
Visite pistes Satellite 3 tour contrôle
Le Satellite 3 se trouve au pied de la tour de contrôle, au bord des pistes.

L’aéroport de Bordeaux vise la neutralité carbone d’ici à 2030. Un objectif ambitieux, déjà bien encouragé par l’obtention de la certification ISO 14001 en décembre 2020. Débutés fin 2019, les travaux pour la construction du Satellite 3 ralentissent avec la pandémie. Mais, selon Simon DRESCHEL, le contexte a davantage motivé à faire avancer les choses. L’arrivée de ce nouvel espace délivre donc un message optimiste, dans un chantier d’avenir. 

Le bâtiment apporte donc davantage de confort aux voyageurs, au pied des pistes. Éclairage LED qui s’adapte selon la luminosité environnante pour moins consommer, avec une économie estimée à 96 MWHEP par an. L’eau utilisée au sein du Satellite 3 provient principalement de l’eau de pluie, ce qui permet d’économiser plus de 1 000 m3 d’eau potable par an. Les déchets de chantier sont aussi valorisés pour réduire nuisances, pollution à travers une meilleure gestion des déchets. 

Faire du Satellite 3 la première “bonne impression” de la région 

Le Satellite 3 se trouve au pied des pistes, et bénéficie d’une excellente isolation acoustique, si bien qu’il est possible de voir les avions de près depuis l’intérieur du bâtiment… Sans les entendre. En effet, le vitrage utilisé permet de réduire de 50 dB les sons extérieurs. A travers cette réduction significative, l’Aéroport de Bordeaux souhaite avant tout rendre l’expérience des voyageurs encore meilleure. 

Tout est conçu dans cet espace pour que les voyageurs se sentent bien. L’accès aux portes d’embarquement est plus simple avec des contrôles plus ordonnés et fluides. Le passage aux douanes est aussi facilité avec des sas PARAFE (Passage automatisé rapide aux frontières extérieures) avec le passeport biométrique. L’objectif de l’aéroport ? Faciliter les déplacements dans l’aéroport pour que les voyageurs puissent accéder à leur porte d’embarquement ou quitter les lieux rapidement. 

Intérieur salle embarquement Satellite 3
L’intérieur est conçu pour le confort des voyageurs et en faveur de l’environnement.

En concevant le Satellite 3, l’aéroport, la CCI, les collectivités comme la ville de Mérignac, de Bordeaux et la métropole… mais aussi la DGAC (Direction générale de l’Aviation Civile) ont pensé à l’avenir. Aux enjeux de demain pour la région et à répondre aux besoins de tous les acteurs concernés par ces évolutions. 

Selon Patrick SEGUIN, Président de la CCI Gironde, l’enjeu était important et indispensable. Un vrai “Cocorico” qui mettra en avant les engagements de la Nouvelle-Aquitaine en termes de performance énergétique et environnementale. 

Il s’agissait d’un plan ambitieux pour l’aéroport. Un plan d’une dimension environnementale pensé avant la pandémie. Nous souhaitons que l’aéroport devienne vert à terme à travers tous les projets que nous menons de front. Un plan d’investissement d’un montant de 160 millions d’euros sur plusieurs années est en place à cet effet. Ces investissements sont essentiels car ils permettent d’améliorer l’impact des bâtiments sur l’environnement.

Patrick SEGUIN

Des ambitions porteuses à venir aux abords de l’aéroport 

L’aéroport de Bordeaux ne cesse de se développer. L’inauguration du Satellite 3 marque le premier grand changement d’une série d’évolutions pour le bien-être de tous. La question de la mobilité se pose, notamment pour se rendre et partir de l’aéroport. Le chantier principal en cours concerne l’extension du tramway jusqu’à l’aéroport. Cela permettra de réduire le temps de trajet depuis le centre de Bordeaux, mais aussi de faciliter l’accès à toute la métropole grâce au réseau de transports en commun. 

Le parvis de l’aéroport est aussi en travaux. Comme le Satellite 3, l’ambition des contributeurs de ce projet est de le rendre vers. Simon DRESCHEL le décrit comme un espace de verdure, avec des arbres et un aménagement facilitant l’arrivée des voyageurs. 

Inauguration banderole Satellite 3
L’inauguration en présence des acteurs de la construction du Satellite 3.

A l’aube de l’arrivée des avions à hydrogène et électrique, les ambitions de l’aéroport sont plus fortes que jamais. Comme l’indique Patrick SEGUIN : “Lorsque nous aurons les avions électriques et à hydrogène, alors nous aurons plus d’avions. Dans les pays d’Europe du Nord, ils utilisent beaucoup de camions à hydrogène. Ils ont atteint la neutralité carbone sur ce point, et ont plus de camions, avec 500 km d’autonomie.”

Le Satellite 3 est d’ores et déjà ouvert pour les vols internationaux. Il permet de relancer le tourisme aérien, déjà bien reparti avec un pic significatif au mois d’août. Si la reprise du trafic à son niveau de 2019 ne se fera pas avant 3 à 4 ans, Simon DRESCHEL entend bien soigner chaque jour la qualité de l’accueil de tous les voyageurs. Voyageurs d’affaires, voyageurs commerciaux, militaires, ou même sanitaires doivent être accueillis dans les meilleures conditions pour que leur première impression de Bordeaux soit irréprochable. 

Des ambitions qui permettent à la région Nouvelle-Aquitaine de rayonner… Et plus que jamais de s’inscrire dans cette démarche d’avenir. 

Sources : 

Propos recueillis à l’occasion de l’inauguration de la Jetée Internationale le 7 octobre 2021

Une nouvelle jetée internationale et davantage de capacité pour le Hall A Aéroport de Bordeaux

Abonnez-vous à la Newsletter

X